2 Years ago North Carolina passed a law requiring the officers and owners of moving companies operating their to pass a criminal background check. Earlier this month the North Carolina Utilities Commission reported that more than 50 had not complied and could lose their licenses to operate in the state. According to published numbers, that is approximately 20% of the state's licensed movers.
A letter to companies that had not yet complied states they must pay a fine of $500 and file the proper paperwork by the end of the year or have their licensing suspended.The commission notified recalcitrant movers in the past week that they must pay a $500 late fine by Dec. 31. If the movers don't pay the fine, their state certificates could be suspended and the fine increased to $1,000.
In October the state did offer all the companies a chance to come to a public hearing or send legal representation and ask for an extension. Those that came were granted an extension of February 28th to provide their criminal checks. This deadline has been extended before, the original deadline was April 2010.
Some considered the new requirement a hassle; others had privacy concerns. The requirement applies to company officials, not to employees, and the Utilities Commission must keep the information confidential.
The commission had put the new regulations into effect in 2008 after it was proposed they would protect the consumer. A criminal record does not automatically disqualify someone from being a mover, it is simply reviewed to see if the person poses a risk to the consumer and the industry. The NC Utilities commission has reported that many movers have criminal records but were permitted to continue operating if their crimes showed no risk to the public.
If you have an opinion on this regulation or experience with it personally, leave a comment!